top of page
  • Caitlin

We need to talk about Dune


Ok, a forewarning: I have a long and emotional history with Dune. And when one must engage me (or anyone who is familiar with it) about Dune, one must preface the discussion with the distinction between the book and the film. And by "the film," I mean none other than David Lynch's 1984 epic adaptation, which is, to varying levels of bemusement of any reader of the books, a seminal work.

That is to say, there are complex feels. Arrakeen deserts filled with feels.

For example, I feel that I could write lengthy discourses about Frank Herbert's genius and the holistic vision of his legendary space opera, and I probably will add on to this introductory discourse in the future. But for now, I will voice a relatively brief summary of my first encounter with the world of Dune and how I have imprinted on it as a sci-fi fangirl.

Ironically, I saw the film in high school because, Kyle MacLachlan. I can't exactly remember if I was watching Twin Peaks first and my dad then suggested Dune to me or vice versa, but whatever, I had to see this film. I watched it and I was absolutely nerdstruck. I thought it was incredible. So my dad told me to read the book. Here's the turning point: I was even more nerdstruck. So much so that there was a slow dawning in my heart and mind at just how SHIT the movie was.

Thus created the great Dune schism in my soul.

I went on to read all of Frank Herbert's books, which blew my mind with their scope and far-reaching commentary on humanity and technology and religion. The Dune novels totally live up the hype of fabricating one of the most complex and superlative sci-fi universes known to literature. Not enough can be said about its attention to ecumenical, ecological, political, and personal detail. It presents a thought-provoking theoretical sandbox of human existence like no other.

So of course, no film or TV series can expect to fully capture such a behemoth. I don't expect that at all, from anyone. I will say that the Sci-Fi channel's miniseries adaptations arguably do a better job of presenting the nuances than the Lynch film, but that's only because it had better special effects and a longer temporal canvas with which to work. These miniseries, obviously informed by the film, also had some of the same flaws in the end.

Today, having lived with the dual Dune platforms in pop culture for nearly 15 years, I have learned that the Lynch film isn't actually SHIT. It has supreme flaws, which begin at about the 30-minute mark with the overwrought characterization of the twisted Baron Harkonnen, but I cannot fault the production values or the ernest performances from the actors. Yes, Dune the book is rife with "trippy" imagery and dream philosophy, which Lynch honestly depicts fairly beautifully.

The problems I have with the film stem from the overuse of the voice-over trope (which I think more often than not undermines the actors' otherwise solid delivery), the memorable if uber-dated employment of Toto for the rock guitar soundtrack (which, though iconic and perhaps inspired, is a serious mismatch with the tone of the original text and subject matter), and of course, the death knell for any serious sci-fi film adaption: a near-complete assumption that the audience has a comfortable familiarity with the book.

My vexation regarding the staying power of the film comes from the fact that it has firmly seated itself into the cannon of influential sci-fi despite all this, solely because, well, once you've seen it, you will never forget it. Sir Patty Stew as Gurney Halleck--awesomesauce. A frankly delicious Sting in his space underwear--amazeballs. The Fremen battles set to ass-kicking rock music--exhilarating. The pure gross-out moments with the Baron and the disturbing blue-eyed power of young Alia--WTF.

I have never hated Lynch's film. It's just that the moment it begins, it ceases being Frank Herbert's Dune, because it is entirely David Lynch's Dune. I do often find myself enjoying it (especially after a couple cocktails) and I have come to embrace the weirdness with a hipster-like ironical adoration. It's an especially good background white noise for any deep geek discussion about re-casting it should it ever get adapted properly in the future (read: before I die, hopefully). Because, you know, as a serious fan of the books, I could never hold it up as a "good" introduction to the masterpiece that is the written word of Dune. It is what it is: a very entertaining and perfect example of how NOT to adapt sci-fi. It's an incredible cautionary tale.

Oh. Whew. I still have so much more to say. That'll come in time. Thank you for your endurance. Until next time, the spice must flow.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page