top of page
  • Caitlin

Sourdough Weekend #5


So let's just say I was overwhelmed with the desire to bake all weekend. Even though it's Christmas Eve and Hanukkah Eve and all the things are happening... I just couldn't go another day without getting my hands deep into some nice dough. And not just one loaf, but THREE DIFFERENT KINDS.

It began with last night, when I fed the shit out of all my starters. I needed all yeasts on deck to make sure there would be enough for an olive loaf, a rosemary sourdough, and a mess of cowboy biscuits for Christmas morning. I also opted to spread some on parchment for drying so I can give some to my sister (just in case she feels like going down the sourdough rabbithole in the new year).

I got up at 6:30 this morning, and even before I had a cup of tea in me, I was measuring and mixing and chopping. Once I had the two bowls of properly autolyzed, salted, and herbed/olived dough, I had to also go outside and take care of my orchids, stopping every 30 minutes to give the dough its gluten yoga routine.

It's a sunny, warm-ass Floridian morning, people. The only thing reminding me that it's WINTER is the short duration of the day.

By 4:00 this afternoon, all was well! MERRY CHRISTMAS!

14 views0 comments
bottom of page