top of page
  • Caitlin

Manflesh of the Month: John Oliver

Updated: Apr 25, 2021


File this one under my weakness for nebbish Brits. I mean, I was even married to one for a while there, so I know my type.

I've been a fan of Joliver (a nickname I believe I picked up from The Bugle podcast ages ago) ever since the moment he joined The Daily Show cast and soon became Jon's best sidekick since Colbert. His British perspective on all the craziness surrounding the 2008 election earned him super Caity nerd cred, and he totally cemented his awesomeness the summer he spent hosting TDS while Jon was off directing his pet project film, Rosewater. Soon after, HBO scooped his adorkable ass up and gave him his own show, and THANK GOD because he learned how to do satire under Jon, and he has GOT IT DOWN and I miss Jon SO GODDAMNED MUCH. Joliver brings me comfort and joy.

I mean, wow. Look at this dork.

Here he is hanging out with Richard Ayoade, DORKS SUPREME.

But then he gets hotter by association with Jon.

And hey, ADORABLE LAUGHING!

And he's trying so hard to love America despite its weirdness. I know, dude. King George is still laughing at us.

Oh, baby. So distinguished.

But yeah, Last Week Tonight returns this Sunday Feb 12th at 11:00. YASSSSSSSSSSSS TAPE THAT SHIT

9 views0 comments
bottom of page