top of page
  • Caitlin

Manflesh of the Month: Matt Bellamy

Updated: Apr 25, 2021


This month we (the royal we) celebrate a very uncomplicated and recently re-kindled man appreciation for the one and only Muse frontman and world-record-holding destroyer of guitars: Matt Bellamy. Because, of course. He's a pale, emo-looking skinny Brit with wonky teeth and a wonderful voice who fancies playing guitar and we're well past the point of denying that I have a "type" and that he doesn't fit it perfectly. I married one of those (and I'm still madly in love with him) so yeah... of course.

I mean, please.

I rest my case.

So in my preparations for the upcoming Muse concert in Tampa on May 21st, I have been watching videos and brushing up on screaming favorite lyrics in my car this past week. I am reminded of just how transcendent my first Muse concert was… it was at the Tampa Bay Times Forum (now Amalie Arena) in Tampa during their 2nd Law tour… and right when they reached the pinnacle of "Knights of Cydonia," it was transformed into a religious experience of pure badassery I was not expecting at the time. Who knew just three dudes and a shit-ton of glittering screens and massive stage equipment could elicit musical bliss? And I LOVED admiring Matt's shiny jacket from across the arena.

LOVE IT. GUH.

Anyway, I cannot wait to allow the vibes of ecstatic dissent rock through my body once again. I really need it right now. God knows.

Rock me, Bellamy. Rock me hard. Give me that mischievous smile and shred my current state of disappointment with the world with your ravenous riffs.

*dies*

16 views0 comments
bottom of page