top of page
  • Caitlin

We need to talk about the upcoming-desperately-anticipated-holy-Shai-Hulud-I-can't-believe-this DUNE MOVIE

Updated: Apr 22


OK, so, *deep breath*

FUCKING HOT DAMN THANK YOU UNIVERSE FOR THIS HIGHLY PERSONAL FAVOR YOU ARE DOING FOR ME. I CANNOT EVEN.

First, there was director Denis Villeneuve, who gave me SUPREME tingles mostly because Blade Runner 2049 is one of the most beautiful films I've ever seen ever. He said that Frank Herbert's first book is definitely more than one movie, BLESS his heart.

Then came Timothee Chalamet to play Muad' Dib, who is just *perfection.*

After that, pretty much every casting choice that's come down the line has not disappointed: Rebecca Ferguson, Oscar Isaac, Josh Brolin, Dave Bautista, Stellan Skarsgard, Zendaya, Charlotte Rampling, Javier Bardem, Jason Momoa. Like, leave some actors for the rest of the world's filmmakers to make movies for the next few years, for fuck's sake.

And just now, I learned that it is set to drop November 2020.

Cue Freddie Mercury: Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy?

Nearly 2.5 years ago, I posted about my complicated feels/hopes/dreams regarding Dune, aka the greatest sci-fi universe in existence. It was only a few months later, that the first inklings that Dune was a twinkle in Denis's eye had started spreading on the interwebs. Hope was kindled. But it took another year and a half before Paul Atreides was cast and things started getting serious. Just in the last few weeks, has the casting news been coming hard and fast.

Still so many questions: How many of these films are you actually going to make? Who's composing the score? How will you handle the blue-within-blue eyes effect without it getting too weird? Will Kyle MacLachlan make a cameo? Will Starbucks have a promotional melange spice latte?

WHO WILL BE LOVELY FEYD???

THIS IS HAPPENING. It's for real.

I have begun the final countdown. I will weep when I see the first trailer or any kind of leaked on-set photos. I will be there for whatever midnight showing happens and then again later that weekend probably. My body is ready.

This can't possibly SUCK, can it? Well, anything could suck. Look at Star Wars. Never mind, don't look at it. George Lucas isn't directing this. Whatever ANYWAY I have my heart securely pinned to my sleeve on this one and I don't care at this point. Will this whole film series be a sietch orgy or will I wish for the sweet death of the gom jabbar before the end? Time will tell. But it can't come soon enough!


44 views0 comments
bottom of page