top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaitlin

2020: A Year in Personal Victories

Updated: Dec 24, 2020



SHIT I AM PROUD OF:


Not turning into a pathetic husk of myself after my six-year relationship evaporated on January 1st, 2020. God knows I have processed the shit out of this opening salvo with my therapist, so I will simply say I am 100% myself again. With the added bonus of emotional scars. Life achievement unlocked! Serendipitously, lockdown eliminated most required social interaction (introversion WIN) and afforded me the time and headspace to focus on my emotional needs for a good long while.


Doing some much-needed yard and patio work. I redirected my usual travel funds to plant things, paint things, and refurnish things to create a much more enviable outdoor space.


Eliminating toilet paper from my home life. Yes. I have future-proofed myself should another lockdown occur. I have also generally reduced my trash production and plastic use with the help of many reusable/refillable items and a compost tumbler.


Finally buying the Eames lounge chair of my dreams. I fell in love ever since Joe let me sit in his real Herman Miller one ages ago (the one he got off of Steve). Mine is the highest-quality imitation I could afford (genuine Italian leather!) and my tiny ass has found its soulmate. Pretty much all my drawing/reading/studying has occurred in that perfect piece of furniture and it will provide many more returns. Now if I could just keep the birds off of it without broiling them in my oven...


Constructing arts. The life-size glowing papier-mâché mangrove tree was the lockdown project my soul needed, and it will forever brighten up my dining area and cause visitors to marvel at its whimsical beauty. Also, a handful of new paintings, one of which commemorating...


...reading/studying all of Shakespeare's works for the second time in my life. See all the blog posts. This will happen again in the future for sure. William was a major factor in my soul's recovery this year. He is my forever boyfriend. Speaking of boyfriends...


Delving back into fanfiction. It's not something I need to share with the whole world, because it's just super indulgent personal real-person fantasy mind candy, but it proved the essential keystone in my mental re-development. It's become a kind of Jesuit exercise, and it makes me feel whole.


Voting. "The world turned upside down..."


All my family and friends for supporting one another in the shittiest of years. In so many sometimes awkward ways, we've managed to stick this out. Some of us had to make major changes, others, not so much. I know I am privileged because the Universe only decided to crush my heart instead of taking my job or breaking my bank account. But overall, in feeling nostalgia for the "before times," I think we've all come to appreciate what matters most. Here's hoping things are on track to resume some vestige of normalcy in the latter half of 2021.


That all said, now 2020 can go straight back to the fire whence it came.


Wear a damn mask, Frodo.

9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page